30.8 C
Kuala Lumpur
Saturday, July 2, 2022
HomeNewsYou can now Travel between States for Tourism Purposes

You can now Travel between States for Tourism Purposes

Plan for your vacation now! Defence Minister, Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri had in today’s press conference announced that interstate travel will now be allowed between states under Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO). This move is to relief the burden of those in the tourism industry who had suffered heavily due to travel bans.

However, it is restricted for only tourism purposes and only tourist vehicles are allowed to do so, private vehicles are still not allowed travel interstate. Furthermore, the tourism agency providing the tour will need to be registered under MOTEC (Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture) and approval should be obtained from PDRM before travelling.

Source: TheSunDaily

If one is travelling from a RMCO state to another RMCO state and passes through a state under CMCO, the vehicle is not allowed to stop in the state. For example, if one travels from is travelling from Melacca to Perlis and passes through Perak, you are not allowed to stop in Perak as the state is under CMCO.

Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri added that the government had agreed to change Langkawi Island’s status to an RMCO zone starting tomorrow (10 March) although Kedah is still placed under the CMCO.

States that are under RMCO currently:

  • Melaka
  • Pahang
  • Terengganu
  • Sabah
  • Putrajaya
  • Labuan
  • Perlis
  • Langkawi Island (starting 10 March)

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments