WhatsApp had recently rolled out a new feature called “View Once” for all its beta testers on Android. While it may be similar with the WhatsApp’s disappearing message which the message disappears within 7 days, this “View Once” function allows photos and video to vanish after the recipient closes them.
In addition, you’ll get a notification that your media has been viewed. According to WABetaInfo, the sender will still know if the view-once photo or video has been open even though you had disable read receipts.
Nonetheless, if the recipient is quick enough to take a screenshot or the screen is being recorded while viewing the media, the photo or video will stay with them in their storage.
According to the beta testers, the messages sent with this function do not have previews on the lock screen or the notification tray. In addition, it is not still unclear how long users will be able to view the images or videos before they disappear, nor can users send disappearing voice notes or documents.
WhatsApp users will be able to access the feature during one-to-one conversations and group chats by simply tapping on the “circled 1” in the text box to use the feature.
WABetaInfo also warned that WhatsApp does not notify the sender when screenshots or screen recordings were taken by the recipient. Hence, we should be mindful of who and what we are sending across.
Adding to their findings, they found that a blocked contact in a common group will be able to see the time-sensitive view-once photos and videos as well. Senders can view group members who have opened their quick picture or video under Message Info.
Meanwhile, the “View Once” feature is not officially release to all user. The feature is currently available to all WhatsApp beta testers on Android and will be rolled out for beta users on iOS soon.
Facebook CEO, Mark Zuckerberg and WhatsApp chief, Will Cathcart said that this feature is WhatsApp’s initiative to allow its users to have more messaging privacy.