So what will be the result if you decided not to agree with the new policy by then?
The messaging app has recently explained the effects that will be put in place in regards to the security and privacy page on its website on whether should users refuse to accept the changes.
According to WhatsApp, you’ll still be able to receive calls and notifications for a couple of weeks after implementation. However, subsequently it noted that you won’t be able to read or send messages, and make any form of calls to your contacts.
From this time forth, WhatsApp did not go into detail on what would happen after prolonged refusal of accepting the new terms. It is possible that the service will continue to maintain the restrictions until users finally decide to give in.
There have been some speculations suggesting that the service will delete a user’s account due to inactivity caused by the restrictions. However, that doesn’t seem to be the case as WhatsApp will only wipe accounts that are not connected to the internet after 120 days, according to its website.
As might be expected, this may change if the service decides to impose even more restrictions in the long run. So if you’re still acknowledging notifications and answering calls from the app, it would still count as to being active.
Further, the service also highlighted that you can still export your chat history on Android or iPhone, and down a report of your account before 15 May. Whether this ability will be taken away from the user after the date of implementation was not specified, so it’s best to take note of this just in case.
Besides, it is also asking users to think over of deleting their WhatsApp accounts, saying that the move is irreversible and will forever erase all message history and backups on Google Drive and iCloud.
It added that location sharing is only retain between the user and their contacts, and by providing the service permission will only allow it access to phone numbers from your contact list in order to “make messaging fast and reliable.”
The service continued to emphasise throughout the FAQ that it does not share a user’s personal information with Facebook for ads purposes. However, it did note earlier in January that sharing of data only applies when a user interacts with a business on its platform, specifically those that use Facebook’s hosting services.
It remains entirely up to you whether you choose to accept the new changes or not. Generally the downside of leaving the platform is that you’d lose all of your chat and call history.
But this is no longer the case as both Signal and Telegram now let users transfer their WhatsApp chats over in just a few steps, therefore enabling them to continue where they left off.