Monday, September 26, 2022
HomeNewsTaiwan drops Malaysia from visa-free entry category

Taiwan drops Malaysia from visa-free entry category

In a surprise move, Taiwan has temporarily suspended visa-free entry from travellers from a slew of countries, including Malaysia.

Other countries that are on the “suspension list” include Singapore, Israel, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Brunei, the Philippines, Russia, Chile, Dominican Republic and Nicaragua, according to Taiwan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs website.

No reason was given for the temporary suspension.

This comes after Taiwan said on Monday (Sept 5) that it would resume visa-free entry for travellers from countries it currently shares diplomatic ties with.

The Taipei Representative Office in Singapore said a press release on the adjustment of border control measures issued on Monday had been “misunderstood”, CNA reported.

The decision was made based on the fact that most countries around the world have already reopened their borders and resumed pre-pandemic border measures; along with the need to balance epidemic prevention, economic and social activities and international exchanges.

Travellers to Taiwan however will still be required to undergo three days of quarantine and take a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test upon arrival. 

The cap of 50,000 arrivals a week will also remain. 

Taiwan has already ended the requirement for pre-departure negative PCR tests.

Before the pandemic, Taiwan was a popular tourist destination for mainly Asian visitors, with Japan, South Korea and Southeast Asia the most important markets.


Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments