Friday, March 31, 2023

MRT 2 starts operation on 16 June with 12 stations under Phase 1

NewsMRT 2 starts operation on 16 June with 12 stations under Phase...

The MRT Putrajaya Line Phase 1, also known as MRT 2 will finally open next month after a 1 year delay. This line covers the entire Putrajaya with a span of 57.7km and 36 stations from Kwasa Damansara to Putrajaya.

According to FMT, MRT Corporation has confirmed that a total of 12 stations would be opened in Phase 1 on 16 June.

The 12 stations include:

  • Kwasa Damansara (P) (MRT Kajang Line interchange)
  • Kampung Selamat
  • Sungai Buloh (P) (KTM Port Klang interchange)
  • Damansara Damai (P)
  • Sri Damansara Barat (P)
  • Sri Damansara Sentral (P)
  • Sri Damansara Timur (P) (KTM Port Klang interchange)
  • Metro Prima (P)
  • Kepong Baru
  • Jinjang (P)
  • Sri Delima
  • Kampung Batu (KTM Seremban interchange)

The Kwasa Damansara, Kampung Selamat and Sungai Buloh stations were originally part of the MRT Kajang Line, but these stations were closed in October 2021 and have not become part of the MRT Putrajaya Line.

All 12 stations above are above ground and those with (P) in the list offer Park ‘n Ride facilities.

Meanwhile, passengers from MRT Kajang Line can switch to MRT Putrajaya Line seamlessly with the same level platform at Kwasa Damansara station. The next interchange between MRT Kajang Line and Putrajaya Line is at Tun Razak Exchange (TRX), which also allows seamless transfers.

MRT Putrajaya line Phase 2

If the Phase 1 of the MRT Putrajaya goes well, Phase 2 would be happening in January 2023 as per the original schedule. Phase 2 of the MRT Putrajaya line connects Kampung Batu to Putrajaya and it will go through the heart of Kuala Lumpur city centre with underground stations such as Titiwangsa, Hospital Kuala Lumpur, Ampang Park, Persiaran KLCC and TRX.

This phase will cover 24 stations plus additional 4 provision stations.

However, the new MRT Putrajaya line will use Hyundai-Rotem train sets that come with a distinctive duck face design in red, unlike the MRT Kajang Line which uses Siemens Inspiro train sets.

The new MRT line will have a total of 49 driverless train sets consisting of four cars with a maximum capacity of 1,204 per train. The trains have a maximum speed of 100km/h and the operator will operate with a frequency of 3.5 minutes during peak hours.

What’s after MRT 2?

The MRT 3 Circle Line project was revived by Transport Minister Dr Wee Ka Siong after it was previously shelved by the Pakatan Harapan government and it is expected to be fully completed by 2030.

The MRT 3 line forms a loop, allowing commuters to travel across different ends of the Klang Valley without going through the city centre.

Last month, MRT Corp has started the tender process and the entire project is at the initial stage. We would probably hear more of this in the coming years.

Trending now

- Advertisement -

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Recommended for you