fbpx
Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Is Coca-Cola halal? Here’s what JAKIM has to say

Social NewsIs Coca-Cola halal? Here's what JAKIM has to say

Coca-Cola has been the favourite of many for decades and one thing remained their secret all this while — their ingredient and formula.

Recently, a viral screenshot allegedly revealing the ingredients in the Coca-Cola beverage has shook up many Malaysian Muslims.

The screenshot, was allegedly taken from U.S.-based Times News Network, which the source was taken from the weekly public radio program and podcast This American Life (which got its source from Atlanta Journal-Constitution), revealed that the beverage contains alcohol.

Source: Reddit

Coca-Cola’s mysterious ingredients

Since its invention in 1886, Coca-Cola contains 7 mysterious flavours that make it unique and addictive taste.

According to Ira Glass, the presenter of the public radio institution This American Life, he claimed to have discovered the secret flavours after researching about it.

He said that the beverage contains coca leaves, caffeine, a buttload of sugar, lime juice, vanilla, and caramel while its syrup is made out of alcohol mixed with six oils: orange, lemon, nutmeg, coriander, neroli, and cinnamon.

However, Coca-Cola’s Kerry Tressler has trashed his claim. “Many third parties have tried to crack our secret formula. Try as they might, they’ve been unsuccessful,” he said.

JAKIM assures that Coca-Cola is halal

Following the viral claims, the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (JAKIM) has come out to reassure Muslims in the Southeast Asian nation that Coca-Cola is halal to drink.

“So far, JAKIM’s Halal Hub record data shows that all 14 variations of the drink are still certified halal. In fact, the expiry date of the halal certificate by the manufacturer is also valid,” a spokesperson for JAKIM was quoted as saying by Kosmo.

He also said that Coca-Cola Bottlers (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. has met all the strict conditions before being certified halal and its certificate is up for renewal come 2024.

“We have never compromised on this issue, even the strict procedures of the factory in Techpark, Bandar Enstek, Negeri Sembilan are always closely monitored by JAKIM,” said the spokesperson.

Thus, there’s no need for you to worry about whether Coca-Cola is halal.

What do you think about this? Share your thoughts!

Trending now

- Advertisement -

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Recommended for you