Monday, February 6, 2023

Dewan Rakyat Speaker asks MPs to nominate their candidate as the next Prime Minister

NewsDewan Rakyat Speaker asks MPs to nominate their candidate as the next...

After Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin’s resignation as the Prime Minister of Malaysia, the procedures to nominate the next Prime Minister follows with a nomination of candidates to the King.

The Dewan Rakyat Speaker, Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun has issued a notice to all Members of Parliament (MP) to submit in writing to Istana Negara their candidate for the next Prime Minister.

The notice is issued in accordance with Article 43 (2)(a) of the Federal Constitution, where the Yang di-Pertuan Agong has to appoint a prime minister who, in his judgement is likely to command the confidence of the majority in Parliament.

“As instructed by decree from His Majesty, I hereby give notice to you to submit a letter clearly stating one MP whom you believe should become the 9th Prime Minister.” Azhar said.

In addition, the MPs are required to submit their vote by 4 p.m. on Wednesday (18 August).

In the statement, it is also clarified that the vote has to be a statutory declaration and has to be submitted through fax, email, or WhatsApp and addressed to Senior Private Secretary to His Majesty, Colonel Datuk Nazim Mohd Alim.

It is also stressed that hand delivered letters will not be accepted as the National Royal Palace is still under Phase 1 of the National Recovery Plan (NRP).

Meanwhile, late submissions or submissions that do not met the criteria given will not be entertained.

In addition, he also reminded the MPs to keep the content of their declarations secret until the King announces his decision for the next Prime Minister.

Who do you think will be the next Prime Minister? Share your thoughts!

Read the full notice here:

Trending now

- Advertisement -

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Recommended for you